top of page

Fail, Quit, Start Over, Call me.

Updated: Sep 24, 2020


I am a confident leader with a lot of humility. I am a dork and say weird shit and I can promise an awkward interaction between the two of us will happen at least once. I say this to you and not worry that people might judge me anymore. I hope you do though because your judgments allow me to see a different perspective and a chance to learn from those judgments. Or it allows me to kindly say, "Fuck off" and move on with my day. Which is more fun for me anyway. I still love you probably because it's hard for me not to love anyone these days, but sometimes humans just need a frank reminder.


Anyway.


I've stopped apologizing for being myself and you should too. Here I sit 8 months after my personal Leadership Program with Mountains and Marathons, which undoubtedly taught me to take responsibility for my own life, but I have only uncovered the greatest and most authentic me in the last 4 weeks. Why? Because I felt super lost coming home and decided I cannot give up after all that work. Once you make it to the top or cross that finish line, you don't stop, you have to come down and start again.


I have 5 core values in my life that if my actions and words do not align with, then I am not living or being my authentic self. My core values are the root of my being and I use them when decision making or just being a real human in the world. Give it a try if you feel like it.


Mine are:

  1. Lead with Empathy - assume positive intent - ALWAYS

  2. Gratitude - my life is amazing and always has been, so help others, there are people that need a lot more than you.

  3. Mental and Physical Health - Align this shit and keep it on track. Ride your bike, eat plants, and talk to your therapist baby!

  4. Determination - never stop learning and pushing the limits, fail, every day.

  5. In-Service of Others - I will give my time to help any and everyone I can.


So, when I say I am a confident leader with humility what I am saying is this: I won't ever tell you what you should do to find your true happiness because quite frankly I have no fucking clue what makes you tick. However, I will share what has worked for me and tell you that this was very difficult for me to see for many years. I was not capable of finding this on my own. Which is why I want to share this with you all. I hope my story gives you inspiration to start. Even if it's a small step.


I had the pleasure of learning from these beautiful souls, both of which make my heart flutter every time we speak. Two people don't just change your entire life and you not have immense love for them, know what I'm saying?





So now that you've watched that. Do you feel a fire inside?


Not to be cliche, but when you wake up in the morning, how do you feel? Does it change daily? Is it mostly happy and excited or are you dreading what is to come?


I challenge you this: try to wake up more days excited as hell that you can't sit still and question your own sanity, ok?


How do we do this?


Well, it starts by taking control of your life and your own happiness. You know deep down within you what you like to do, what you've thought to try, or dreams you wish to achieve. So why are you waiting?


Don't say money, don't say resources, don't say it will affect others, please, just stop. This is about YOU right now. All those roadblocks are excuses that will work themselves out if you want it bad enough. I will say this though, your efforts will not be an overnight success, it will break you most days, but guess what? With every valley, there's a mountain peak right around the corner.

Sometimes what we need to do to open a door to our own true happiness is to quit our current life and lock it away. Ask for help, you'll need it, and then pause. Quit that job you so desperately dread going to and replace it with something that maybe isn't quite your dream job, but a pleasant environment and step to allow you to breathe and work towards the role you really want.


I was really embarrassed when I had only a part-time job working retail after having a successful college degree and full-time career for many years. I was embarrassed because I cared way too much what others thought, and I was ashamed. But holy shit did I need that amazing experience to be where I am now in my career. Reminder: this took 8 months, it will not happen quickly and this is where your determination and patience come in. I am still working and to be honest will be forever.


In September 2019 I quit, like up and quit just everything I knew for so many years, and it was the best decision I ever did for myself. I quit my routines, my job, normal day to day life, and just paused for a moment. I cried most days, I was a real asshole friend to people that were supporting me and felt like a big loser, but guess what? I am better for this now. I am that person that can't sleep now because I am just too excited for the next day and often question my sanity.


This post isn't meant to drag on or share some unearthly wisdom giving you the keys to success, it's simply here to remind you that you are allowed to pause, be brave, and quit the bullshit that's eating away at your beautiful soul.


Every single human deserves to feel excited when they wake up. They deserve to feel free and not just when they are vacationing or hanging out on the weekend. I promise you, every damn day should be an adventure.


"Own your birthright as the creator of your life." - Jamin & Jen

DO THIS.


Take the reigns, make the tough calls, expect judgment, and expect yourself to feel really low, but know that what will come is pride, happiness, and truly a beautiful life you deserve.


Let's talk, let's share stories, let's lean on each other. It's what I'm here for, I promise. Don't be afraid. Eat awesome food and go explore - with me preferably. Peace.



bottom of page